LibGuides: History and Political Science: Background Information

What is background information?

Preliminary research is the process of collecting information about an unfamiliar topic. This gathering of background information will improve one’s understanding of the topic, help with developing a thesis statement or research question, and ensure accuracy when actual research begins.

Keep in mind that the secondary and tertiary sources found in Credo Reference are not the types of sources your instructors would want you to cite in a paper.

Credo Reference

Credo Reference is a collection of hundreds of academic reference resources, which can be searched by topic.

Here are some selected examples:

The Oxford Companion to British History by John Cannon, Robert Crowcroft
Thousands of entries offer coverage on all aspects of British history from 55 BC to the present day.
Encyclopedia of African History by Kevin Shillington
Covering the entire continent from Morocco, Libya, and Egypt in the north to the Cape of Good Hope in the south, and the surrounding islands from Cape Verde in the west to Madagascar, Mauritius, and Seychelles in the east, the eEncyclopedia is an A-Z reference resource on the history of the entire African continent.
World History: A Comprehensive Reference Set by Facts on File
An important resource for World History, this 6 volume work covers hundreds of topics on great events, notable people throughout history, and more.
The Classical Tradition by Anthony Grafton , Glenn W. Most , Salvatore Settis
Designed for scholars, students, and the general reader, this compilation of essays shows how Classical civilizations have shaped human endeavors from art to government, mathematics to medicine, drama to urban planning, legal theory to popular culture.
Routledge Histories: The Routledge History of the Renaissance by William Caferro
Drawing together the latest research in the field, The Routledge History of the Renaissance treats the Renaissance not as a static concept, but as one of ongoing change within an international framework. It takes as its unifying theme the idea of exchange and interchange through the movement of goods, ideas, disease and people, across social, religious, political and physical boundaries.
The Princeton Encyclopedia of American Political History by Michael Kazin
An essential resource for anyone interested in U.S. history and politics, this two-volume encyclopedia covers the major forces that have shaped American politics from the founding to today.
Encyclopedia of American Political Parties and Elections by Larry J. Sabato, Howard R. Ernst
Encyclopedia of American Political Parties and Elections provides comprehensive coverage of the American election process and its political parties.