Online Nursing: Databases

CINAHL Ultimate covers a wide range of topics including nursing, and 17 allied health disciplines. 

Click here to view a brief tutorial regarding effective searching in the CINAHL Ultimate database.

Cochrane Library database includes systematic reviews, protocols, controlled trials and Clinical Answers.

Click here for a tutorial regarding how to search the Cochrane Library.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition

MEDLINE is an authoritative database containing citations and abstracts from biomedical and health journals.

Click here for a tutorial regarding how to search MEDLINE.

Ovid Emcare is a new scholarly nursing and allied health database focusing on clinical practice.

Click here for a tutorial regarding how to search Ovid Emcare.

• If using an Ovid database, begin with Ovid Emcare, which includes access to more journals than Ovid Nursing Database. 

Ovid Nursing Database includes articles and citations from Ovid nursing journals and MEDLINE.

Academic Search Ultimate 

If you haven't used Academic Search Ultimate, view this brief video tutorial.

PubMed offers citations and abstracts covering the fields of biomedicine and health, life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.

Science Direct serves as an access point for thousands of journals, articles and book chapters.  See this document regarding Science Direct articles.

Additional nursing databases are available on the library's website.

New Hours

Email askalibrarian during these new hours:

Mondays – Thursdays
8am to 5pm (ET)

Fridays
8am to 4pm (ET)

See our expanded Chat service hours below.

  Email           askalibrarian@sjcme.edu

New Hours

Chat/Text
Chat with a librarian during the new, expanded hours:

Mondays –  Fridays
5pm – Midnight (ET)

Saturdays and Sundays
Chat is available 24 hours each day.

Chat here.