Skip to main content

Wellehan Library APA Guide: Database Sources

Citing Sources from Databases

Below are examples of citations for articles, ebooks and other resources from library databases. 

Remember, all reference list entries are double spaced and in hanging indent format.  Example:

References for Database Sources

Scholarly Journal Article with DOI

Archbold, C.A., Hassell, K. D., & Stichman, A. (2010). Comparing promotion aspirations among female and male police officers. International Journal of Police Science & Management, 12, 287-303. doi:10.1350/ijps.2010.12.2.175

First in-text citation: (Archbold, Hassel, & Stichman, 2010) Subsequent: (Archbold et al., 2010)

Note: A DOI may be recorded either as a set of numbers and letters preceded by “doi:” as above, or as a URL (not preceded by “doi:”), such as http://dx.doi.org/10.1067/rmh0000008. Either format is acceptable.

 

Scholarly Journal Article without DOI [electronic from database]

Ingram, J. D., & Triadafilopoulous, T. (2010). Rights, norms, and politics: The case of German citizenship reform. Social Research, 77, 353-382. Retrieved from http://www.socres.org

First and subsequent in-text citation: (Ingram & Triadafilopoulous, 2010)

Note: Journal’s home page URL is cited in retrieval statement.

 

Book [electronic version from eBook database]

Kreyling, M. (1998). Inventing Southern literature. Retrieved from http://www.upress.state.ms.us/

Note: Provide publisher homepage URL, not database information in retrieval statement.

 

Unsigned Entry from Europa World Plus Database

Bermuda. (n.d.). Retrieved June 4, 2010, from http://www.europaworld.com

Note: Retrieval date is cited because content in this database is updated with some frequency.

 

Signed Entry from Europa World Plus Database

Wearne, P. (n.d.). French Guiana - Economy (Revised by P. Clegg). Retrieved June 4, 2010, from http://www.europaworld.com

In-text citation: (Wearn, n.d., para. 4)

Note: Since text is unpaginated, paragraph number is cited. APA now calls for the use of “para.” instead of ¶. According to the APA blog, “you can count paragraphs down from the beginning of the document.” 

 

Newspaper Article [electronic version from ProQuest Newspapers database]

Needleman, S. E. (2010, June 1). Merchants push sales through social media: Early adopters add shopping-cart apps to fan pages to sell items, services. The Wall Street Journal. Retrieved from http://online.wsj.com/home-page

 

Review from Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews

Singh, J., Kour, K., & Jayaram, B. (2012). Acetylcholinesterase inhibitors for schizophrenia. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, 2012(1), 1-101. doi:10.1002/14651858.CD007967.pub2

Note: According to the APA blog, “…the year of publication does double duty as the volume number. The issue number is needed because the journal is not continuously paginated. And because we have a DOI, neither the URL nor the Cochrane-assigned ID number is needed.”

 

Contact Us

  Email

           askalibrarian@sjcme.edu


Phone (207) 893-7725
         1-800-343-5498 (opt #4)


chat loading...

 Text (207) 245-1331       

          Text and chat hours: 

          Sunday, 1pm - 9pm

          Mon-Thurs, 5pm - 11pm