Consult these databases to find journal articles on specific topics. To locate journals by their title, use the Online Journal Portal.
Click this link to view a brief tutorial regarding how to use the Online Journal Portal.
Gale Literature Database provides access to scholarly articles, biographical information about authors and literary criticism.
Twayne's Author Series provides introductions to the lives and works of major writers of the world within the context of the time period in which they lived.
Scribner’s Writers Series includes biographical and critical essays on the lives and works of more than 1,400 authors from around the world.
Academic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary database offering full-text articles from peer reviewed journal. Topics covered include literature and publishing.
View this video for instructions for searching Academic Search Complete.
Academic OneFile provides access to scholarly journals and other authoritative sources, including videos, podcasts and transcripts.
JSTOR offers access to peer-reviewed journals and books in 75 disciplines.
Novelist Plus is a source for read-alike recommendations and tools for teaching with books. (Note: To access this database, you will need your library barcode, which is the number beginning with 21912 at the bottom of your student ID.)
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) includes the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words.
Additional databases are available on the library's website.
The primary means of contact for the library is the email address listed below.
Email askalibrarian@sjcme.edu
New Hours
Email askalibrarian during these new hours:
Mondays – Thursdays
8am to 5pm (ET)
Fridays
8am to 4pm (ET)
See our expanded Chat/Text service hours.
Email askalibrarian@sjcme.edu
Text (207) 245-1331
Text and chat hours:
New Hours
Chat/Text
Chat with a librarian during the new, expanded hours:
Mondays – Fridays
5pm – Midnight (ET)
Saturdays and Sundays
Chat is available 24 hours each day.
Chat here.