Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

English and Writing and Publishing: Home

About this guide

This guide accomplishes multiple purposes.

First, it provides quick access to resources that can be useful to students taking English or Writing and Publishing courses.

Second, it highlights resources available from the library that may be unfamiliar to students.

Third, it serves as an access point to librarians, Smarthinking, and citation style and plagiarism resources.

Your Librarians

Contact Lynn or Patty with questions regarding library resources.

Lynn Bivens, Head Librarian
lbivens@sjcme.edu     207-893-7726

 

Patricia Takacs, Reference and Information Literacy Librarian

ptakacs@sjcme.edu

Student Support

All Saint Joseph's College students may use Smarthinking, which provides access to tutors, and feedback for written assignments. Find a link to Smarthinking under the Student Resources heading on your Brightspace course homepage. 

Quick Access

The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) includes the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words.

As an historical dictionary, the OED is very different from dictionaries of current English, in which the focus is on present-day meanings. You will still find present-day meanings in the OED, but you will also find the history of individual words, and of the language.

Gale Literature Database provides access to scholarly articles, biographical information about authors and literary criticism.

Click on the Databases tab above to see other available databases.‚Äč

Contact Us

The primary means of contact for the library is the email address listed below.


  Email           askalibrarian@sjcme.edu


chat loading...

 Text (207) 245-1331       

          Text and chat hours: 

          Sunday: 6:30pm - 9pm

Mon - Thurs: 6:30pm - 9pm