Skip to main content

Social Work: Home

About this guide

This guide accomplishes multiple purposes.

First, it provides quick access to frequently used social work resources.

Second, it highlights social work resources available from the library that may be unfamiliar to students.

Third, it serves as an access point to librarians, Smarthinking, and APA and plagiarism resources.

Your Librarians

Contact Lynn Bivens or Ben Coakley with questions regarding library resources.

Lynn Bivens, Head of Reference and Information Literacy
lbivens@sjcme.edu   

 

Ben Coakley, Reference and Information Literacy Librarian
bcoakley@sjcme.edu    

Student Support

All Saint Joseph's College students may use Smarthinking, which provides access to tutors, and feedback for written assignments. Find a link to Smarthinking under the Student Resources heading on your Brightspace course homepage. 

Quick Access

Encyclopedia of Social Work offers more than 400 overview articles on key topics ranging from international issues to ethical standards.

View this tutorial for suggestions regarding how to search the Encyclopedia of Social Work.

SocINDEX with Full Text provides full-text, peer-reviewed journals covering topics including social work, criminal justice and gender studies.

View this tutorial for suggestions for effective searching in the SocINDEX with Full Text database. 

 

Contact Us

During the Fall 2020 semester, the primary means of contact for the library will be the email address listed below.

  Email

           askalibrarian@sjcme.edu


chat loading...

 Text (207) 245-1331       

          Text and chat hours: 

          Sunday, 1pm - 9pm

          Mon-Thurs, 5pm - 11pm