Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Undergraduate Nursing: Home

About this Guide

This guide accomplishes multiple purposes.

First, it provides quick access to frequently used nursing resources.

Second, it highlights nursing resources available from the library that may be unfamiliar to students.

Third, it serves as an access point to librarians, Smarthinking, and APA and plagiarism resources.

Your Librarians

Contact Lynn Bivens or Ben Coakley with questions regarding library resources.

Lynn Bivens, Head of Reference and Information Literacy
lbivens@sjcme.edu   


Ben Coakley, Reference and Information Literacy Librarian
bcoakley@sjcme.edu   

Student Support

All Saint Joseph's College students may use Smarthinking, which provides access to tutors, and feedback for written assignments. Find a link to Smarthinking under the Student Resources heading on your Brightspace course homepage. 

Quick Access

CINAHL covers a wide range of topics including nursing, and 17 allied health disciplines. 

Click here to view a brief tutorial regarding Evidence Based Care Sheets available through CINAHL.

If you haven't used CINAHL, view this brief video tutorial.

NEW:  Cochrane Library database includes systematic reviews, protocols, controlled trials and Clinical Answers.

Click here for a tutorial regarding how to search the Cochrane Library.

Ovid Emcare is a new scholarly nursing and allied health database focusing on clinical practice.

MEDLINE is an authoritative database containing citations and abstracts for biomedical and health journals.

If you haven't used MEDLINE, view this brief video tutorial.

Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination, 4th edition provides videos with step-by-step examinations and rationales for the clinician's actions.

Healthy People 2020 offers science-based, 10-year national objectives for improving the health of all Americans.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention tracks and investigates public health trends and publishes key health information.

Contact Us

During the Fall 2020 semester, the primary means of contact for the library will be the email address listed below.


  Email           askalibrarian@sjcme.edu


chat loading...

 Text (207) 245-1331       

          Text and chat hours: 

          Sunday, 1pm - 9pm

Mon-Thurs, 5pm - 11pm