Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Online Nursing: Databases

Finding Articles by Topic or Journal Title

Consult these databases to find journal articles on specific topics.

To locate journals by their title, use the Online Journal Portal. 

Click this link to view a brief tutorial regarding how to use the Online Journal Portal.

Nursing Databases

CINAHL covers a wide range of topics including nursing, and 17 allied health disciplines. 

Click here to view a brief tutorial regarding Evidence Based Care Sheets available through CINAHL.

NEW:  Cochrane Library database includes systematic reviews, protocols, controlled trials and Clinical Answers.

Click here for a tutorial regarding how to search the Cochrane Library.

Health Reference Center Academic supports research in health studies through periodicals and reference book content. 

MEDLINE is an authoritative database containing citations and abstracts from biomedical and health journals.

Click here for a tutorial regarding how to search MEDLINE.

PubMed offers citations and abstracts covering the fields of biomedicine and health, life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.

Ovid Emcare is a new scholarly nursing and allied health database focusing on clinical practice.

Click here for a tutorial regarding how to search Ovid Emcare.

  • If using an Ovid database, begin with Ovid Emcare, which includes access to more journals than Ovid Nursing Database

Ovid Nursing Database includes articles and citations from Ovid nursing journals and MEDLINE.

Science Direct serves as an access point for thousands of journals, articles and book chapters.  See this document regarding Science Direct articles.

Additional nursing databases are available on the library's website.

 
 
 

For Assistance with Library Databases

During the Spring 2021 semester, the primary means of contact for the library will be the email address listed below.

Click here to see the library's hours.


  Email           askalibrarian@sjcme.edu


chat loading...

 Text (207) 245-1331       

          Text and chat hours: 

          Sunday, 1pm - 9pm

Mon-Thurs, 5pm - 11pm