Below are examples of citations for Journals and Periodicals. Please read carefully and follow the example best suited for where you found the resource.
Note the placement of italics, quotation marks, periods and commas.
Remember, all Works Cited list entries are double spaced and in hanging indent format. These examples are neither double spaced nor in hanging indent format.
The works cited list begins on a new page after the text.
The page is labeled "Works Cited" at the top of the page. The label is centered.
If your journal or periodical comes from a scholarly database, such as the ATLA Religion Database, follow the examples below.
Scholarly Journal Article with DOI
Format:
Lastname, Firstname. "Title of Article." Title of Journal, volume, number, Month Year, Page(s). Database Name, DOI or URL.
Example:
Beltramini, Enrico. “Roman Catholic Government Mission to Tibet: A Historical and Theological Study.” International Bulletin of Mission Research, vol. 45, no. 1, Jan 2021, pp. 62-78. Atla Religion Database, https://doi.org/10.1177/2396939320905675.
Scholarly Journal Article with Permalink
Format:
Lastname, Firstname. "Title of Article." Title of Journal, volume, number, Month Year, Page(s). Database Name, DOI or URL.
Example:
Goldman, Anne. “Questions of Transport: Reading Primo Levi Reading Dante.” The Georgia Review, vol. 64, no. 1, spring 2010, pp. 69-88. JSTOR, http://www.jstor.org/stable/41403188.
Newspaper Article
Format:
Lastname, Firstname. "Title of Article." Title of Newspaper [City of Publication], edition, Day Month Year, Page(s). Database Name, URL.
Example:
MacQuarrie, Brian. "At 101, She's Still Working the Waters: Maine Woman Started Lobstering at Age 8." Boston Globe [Boston], 16 Aug. 2021. ProQuest, https://www.proquest.com/newspapers/at-101-shes-still-working-waters/docview/2561347415/se-2?accountid=140574.
Magazine Article
Format:
Lastname, Firstname. "Title of Article." Title of Magazine, volume, number, Day Month Year, Page(s). Database Name, DOI or URL.
Examples:
Byle, Ann. "Llewellyn Marks 120 Years of Publishing." Publisher's Weekly, vol. 268, no. 31, 2 Aug 2021, p. 10+. Gale Academic Onefile, https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/A671341958/AONE?u=sjcme&sid=bookmark-AONE&xid=8de2cb52.
If your journal or periodical comes from a website, follow the examples below.
Scholarly Journal Article
Format:
Lastname, Firstname. "Title of Article." Title of Journal, volume, number, Month Year, Page(s), URL or DOI.
Example:
Martin, Jennifer N. "The Annunciation of the Flesh: Bodily Meditation in the Work of Charles Péguy." Communio: International Catholic Review, vol. 48, no. 1, Spring 2012, pp. 30-51, communio-icr.com/files/48.1_Martin_-_final_HQ.pdf.
Newspaper Article
Format:
Lastname, Firstname. "Title of Article." Title of Newspaper [City of Publication], edition, Day Month Year, Page(s), URL or DOI.
Example:
Feder, Barnaby J. "Few Year 2000 Glitches Are Reported on First Working Day." The New York Times, 04 Jan. 2000, archive.nytimes.com/www.nytimes.com/library/tech/00/01/biztech/articles/04year.html.
Magazine Article
Format:
Lastname, Firstname. "Title of Article." Title of Magazine, volume, number, Day Month Year, Page(s), URL or DOI.
Examples:
Coman, Alexandra, and David W. Aha. "AI Rebel Agents." AI Magazine, vol. 39, no. 3, 3 Sep. 2018, pp 16-26, http://doi.org/10.1609/aimag.v39i3.2762.
If your journal or periodical comes from a print resource, follow the examples below.
Scholarly Journal Article
Format:
Lastname, Firstname. "Title of Article." Title of Journal, volume, number, Month Year, Page(s).
Example:
Magrini, Lorenzo, et al. "Real-time Optimal Quantum Control of Mechanical Motion at Room Temperature." Nature, vol. 595, no. 7867, July 2021, pp. 373-377.
Newspaper Article
Format:
Lastname, Firstname. "Title of Article." Title of Newspaper [City of Publication], edition, Day Month Year, Page(s).
Example:
Hunter, Marjorie. "Johnson Antipoverty Bill Approved in House, 228-190, but Foes Balk Final Vote." The New York Times, 8 Aug. 1964, pp. 1+.
Note: The + next to the page number denotes that the article was not printed on consecutive pages (MLA 193).
Magazine Article
Format:
Lastname, Firstname. "Title of Article." Title of Magazine, volume, number, Day Month Year, Page(s).
Examples:
Jones, Mel. “The Second Racial Wealth Gap.” Washington Monthly, vol. 47, nos. 11-12, Nov.-Dec. 2015, pp. 11-14.
For online works, such as a journal article or eBook, you must provide a location for the item. The MLA Handbook requires, in order of preference, either the DOI, a permalink, or a URL.
DOI (Digital Object Identifier)
A DOI is a unique identifier that helps with identification and retrieval. DOIs are mostly found on journal articles, and will be located at the top or bottom of the first page. Note that while common today, not all articles will have a DOI. If the DOI is not preceded by http:// or https://, precede the DOI in the entry with the following prefix:
Permalink
A permalink is a a URL that is intended to be permanent. It will always return to the same page. Often you will find the Permalink for a journal article located behind a button which you must click to access. The example below shows the location of the Permalink button in the Atla Religion Database. The MLA Handbook says you should copy the permalink directly from the source.
URL
If neither a DOI nor a permalink are available, copy the URL exactly as you see it in your web browser. You may usually omit the http:// or https:// from a URL.
New Hours
Email askalibrarian during these new hours:
Mondays – Thursdays
8am to 5pm (ET)
Fridays
8am to 4pm (ET)
See our expanded Chat/Text service hours.
Email askalibrarian@sjcme.edu
Text (207) 245-1331
Text and chat hours:
New Hours
Chat/Text
Chat with a librarian during the new, expanded hours:
Mondays – Fridays
5pm – Midnight (ET)
Saturdays and Sundays
Chat is available 24 hours each day.
Chat here.