Credo Reference provides many different reference books to help you conduct background research. Different types of reference materials are cited differently, so make sure you use the example for the item you are using.
Note that these examples are neither double spaced nor in hanging indent format.
Remember, all Works Cited list entries are double spaced and in hanging indent format.
The works cited list begins on a new page after the text.
The page is labeled "Works Cited" at the top of the page. The label is centered.
A dictionary may not have all of the parts listed below. If it does not, you may omit the missing part. Do not confuse a dictionary's editors for the author. The database name will be Credo Reference. The URL is the link found in your browser.
Dictionary
Format:
Lastname, Firstname. "Article Title." Title of book, edited by Firstname Lastname, Version (edition), Publisher, Publication Date. Database Name, URL.
Example:
Nkansah-Obrempong, J. "Angels." Global Dictionary of Theology, edited by William A. Dyrness and Veli-Matti Kärkkäinen, 1st ed., InterVarsity Press, 2008. Credo Reference, sjcme.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.credoreference.com/content/entry/ivpacat/angels/0?institutionId=7264.
Do not confuse an encyclopedia's editors for the author. The database name will be Credo Reference. The URL is the link found in your browser.
Encyclopedia
Format:
Lastname, Firstname. "Article Title." Title of book, edited by Firstname Lastname, Version (edition), Volume Number, Publisher, Publication Date. Database Name, URL.
Example:
Barsalou, Lawrence W. "Ad Hoc Categories." The Cambridge Encyclopedia of the Language Sciences, edited by Patrick Colm Hogan, 1st ed., Cambridge University Press, 2011. Credo Reference, sjcme.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.credoreference.com/content/entry/cupelanscis/ad_hoc_categories/0?institutionId=7264.
Credo Reference includes Almanacs, Biographies, Thesauri, Maps and more. Articles from these books are generally treated the same. If additional information, such as edition or editors, are included, please see Common Works Cited Rule Exceptions.
Other Books on Credo
Format:
Lastname, Firstname. "Article Title." Title of book, Publisher, Publication Date. Database Name, URL.
Examples:
Weston, Richard. "Basilica." 100 Ideas that Changed Architecture, Laurence King, 2011. Credo Reference, sjcme.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.credoreference.com/content/entry/lkingitca/basilica/0?institutionId=7264.
New Hours
Email askalibrarian during these new hours:
Mondays – Thursdays
8am to 5pm (ET)
Fridays
8am to 4pm (ET)
See our expanded Chat/Text service hours.
Email askalibrarian@sjcme.edu
Text (207) 245-1331
Text and chat hours:
New Hours
Chat/Text
Chat with a librarian during the new, expanded hours:
Mondays – Fridays
5pm – Midnight (ET)
Saturdays and Sundays
Chat is available 24 hours each day.
Chat here.