Below are examples of citations for eBooks, online books and print books. Please read carefully and follow the example best suited for where you found the resource.
Note the placement of italics, quotation marks, periods and commas.
Remember, all Works Cited list entries are double spaced and in hanging indent format. These examples are neither double spaced nor in hanging indent format.
The works cited list begins on a new page after the text.
The page is labeled "Works Cited" at the top of the page. The label is centered.
If your book comes from a scholarly database, such as the EBSCO eBook Database, follow the examples below.
eBook from a Database
Format:
Lastname, Firstname. Title of Book. Publisher, Year. Database Name, DOI or URL.
Examples:
Sweeny, Eileen C. Anselm of Canterbury and the Desire for the Word. Catholic University of America Press, 2012. eBook Academic Collection (EBSCOhost), https://sjcme.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=e000xna&AN=493571&site=ehost-live&scope=site.
Chapter of an eBook, a Collection or an Anthology
Format:
Lastname, Firstname. "Title of Chapter." Title of Book, edited by Firstname Lastname, Publisher, Year, Page(s). Database Name, DOI or URL.
Example:
Mikailu, David. "The Almajiri." African Short Stories, edited by Chin Cho, vol. 2, Handel Books Ltd., 2015, pp. 45-56. eBook Academic Collection (EBSCOhost), http://sjcme.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=e000xna&AN=1088010&site=ehost-live&scope=site.
If your book comes from a website, follow the examples below.
Online Book
Format:
Lastname, Firstname. Title of Book. Publisher, Year. Website Name, URL or DOI
Examples:
McHugh, John A. and Charles J. Callan. Moral Theology: A Complete Course Based on St. Thomas Aquinas and the Best Modern Authorities, Joseph F. Wagner, Inc., 2004. Project Gutenberg, www.gutenberg.org/cache/epub/35354/pg35354.html.
Chapter of an Online Book, a Collection or an Anthology
Format:
Lastname, Firstname. "Title of Chapter." Title of Book, edited by Firstname Lastname (if applicable), Publisher, Year, Page(s). Website Name, URL or DOI.
Example:
McHugh, John A. and Charles J. Callan. "Part 1: General Moral Theory." Moral Theology: A Complete Course Based on St. Thomas Aquinas and the Best Modern Authorities, Joseph F. Wagner, Inc., 2004. Project Gutenberg, www.gutenberg.org/cache/epub/35354/pg35354.html.
If your book comes from a print source, follow the examples below.
Print Book
Format:
Lastname, Firstname. Title of Book. Publisher, Year.
Examples:
Minot, Stephen. Three Genres. Pearson, 2003.
Chapter of a Book, a Collection or an Anthology
Format:
Lastname, Firstname. "Title of Chapter." Title of Book, edited by Firstname Lastname, Publisher, Year, Page(s).
Example:
Harris, Muriel. "Talk to Me: Engaging Reluctant Writers." A Tutor's Guide: Helping Writers One to One, edited by Ben Rafoth, Heinemann, 2000, pp. 24-34.
New Hours
Email askalibrarian during these new hours:
Mondays – Thursdays
8am to 5pm (ET)
Fridays
8am to 4pm (ET)
See our expanded Chat/Text service hours.
Email askalibrarian@sjcme.edu
Text (207) 245-1331
Text and chat hours:
New Hours
Chat/Text
Chat with a librarian during the new, expanded hours:
Mondays – Fridays
5pm – Midnight (ET)
Saturdays and Sundays
Chat is available 24 hours each day.
Chat here.