Skip to Main Content

Wellehan Library APA Guide (Revised): Database Sources

Updated with additional information 10/27/2021

Citing Sources from Databases

Below are examples of citations for articles, ebooks and other resources from library databases. 

Note that these examples are neither double spaced nor in hanging indent format.

Remember, all reference list entries are double spaced and in hanging indent format. 

The references list begins on a new page after the text of your paper.

The page is labeled "References" in bold at the top of the page.  The label is centered.

References for Database Sources

All examples represent items retrieved from library databases.

Scholarly Journal Article with DOI

Archbold, C.A., Hassell, K. D., & Stichman, A. (2010). Comparing promotion aspirations among female and male police officers. International Journal of Police Science & Management, 129(3), 287-303.
https://doi.org/10.1350/ijps.2010.12.2.175

First and subsequent in-text citations: (Archbold et al., 2010)

Note: No "Retrieved from" or "Accessed from" statement is included before the DOI.

 

Scholarly Journal Article without DOI 

Ingram, J. D., & Triadafilopoulous, T. (2010). Rights, norms, and politics: The case of German citizenship reform. Social Research, 77(5), 353-382. 

First and subsequent in-text citations: (Ingram & Triadafilopoulous, 2010)

Note: Although this article has no DOI, no journal URL is included. The reference entry ends with the page range.

 

eBook Retrieved from an Online Database

Kreyling, M. (1998). Inventing Southern literature. Yale University Press.

Note: The publisher location is not included in the reference. If the book has a DOI, cite it after the publisher name.

 

Newspaper Article without DOI

Needleman, S. E. (2010, June 1). Merchants push sales through social media: Early adopters add shopping-cart apps to fan pages to sell items, services. The Wall Street Journal.

 

Review from Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews

Singh, J., Kour, K., & Jayaram, B. (2012). Acetylcholinesterase inhibitors for schizophrenia. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. http://doi.org/10.1002/14651858.CD007967.pub2

Rules to Remember - Database Sources

Dates (See page 289.)

  • For journal articles, use the year of the volume.
  • For eBooks, use the copyright date on the copyright page.

Titles (See pages 291 and 294.)

  • For works that are part of a greater whole, such as a journal article, write the title using sentence case. Do not italicize it.
  • For works that stand alone, such as eBooks, write the title using sentence case, italicize it and place a period at the end.
  • Journal titles should be italicized and written in title case.

Source (See page 294.)

  • For journal articles, volume and issue numbers are always cited. Italicize only the volume number.
  • Click here for more information on database source DOIs and URLs.

Contact Us

New Hours

Email askalibrarian during these new hours:

Mondays – Thursdays
8am to 5pm (ET)

Fridays
8am to 4pm (ET)

See our expanded Chat/Text service hours.

  Email           askalibrarian@sjcme.edu

chat loading...

 Text (207) 245-1331       

          Text and chat hours: 

New Hours

Chat/Text
Chat with a librarian during the new, expanded hours:

Mondays –  Fridays
5pm – Midnight (ET)

Saturdays and Sundays
Chat is available 24 hours each day.

Chat here.