Preliminary research is the process of collecting information about an unfamiliar topic. This gathering of background information will improve one’s understanding of the topic, help with developing a thesis statement or research question, and ensure accuracy when actual research begins.
Keep in mind that the secondary and tertiary sources found in Credo Reference are not the types of sources your instructors would want you to cite in a paper.
Consult these databases to find journal articles on specific topics.
Science Direct serves as an access point for thousands of journals, articles and book chapters. See this document regarding Science Direct articles.
Science Full Text Select is a full-text database covering a wide array of scientific subjects.
Environment Complete includes content covering ecosystem ecology, energy, environmental policy, sustainability and other related subjects.
GreenFILE covers all aspects of human impact to the environment, such as global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
To locate journals by their title, use the Online Journal Portal.
Click this link to view a brief tutorial regarding how to use the Online Journal Portal.
Additional databases are available on the library's website.
eBooks on EBSCOhost provides full text content to more than 300,000 ebooks, covering a broad range of academic topics. Use the link to search the entire collection.
View this tutorial regarding effective searching in the eBooks by EBSCOhost database.
Energy Economics and the Environment by 
Carbon Blues by
New Hours
Email askalibrarian during these new hours:
Mondays – Thursdays
8am to 5pm (ET)
Fridays
8am to 4pm (ET)
See our expanded Chat service hours below.
Email askalibrarian@sjcme.edu
New Hours
Chat/Text
Chat with a librarian during the new, expanded hours:
Mondays – Fridays
5pm – Midnight (ET)
Saturdays and Sundays
Chat is available 24 hours each day.
Chat here.