Preliminary research is the process of collecting information about an unfamiliar topic. This gathering of background information will improve one’s understanding of the topic, help with developing a thesis statement or research question, and ensure accuracy when actual research begins.
Keep in mind that the secondary and tertiary sources found in Credo Reference are not the types of sources your instructors would want you to cite in a paper.
Consult these databases to find journal articles on specific topics.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text provides access to hundreds of full-text sports journals, which cover topics including fitness, health and sports, nutrition, physical therapy, occupational health, exercise physiology and kinesiology, and sports medicine.
Health and Wellness Resource Center provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.
APA PsycArticles is a database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association and others. The database provides coverage of 100+ journals from 1894 to the present.
MEDLINE is an authoritative database containing citations and abstracts from biomedical and health journals.
If you haven't used MEDLINE, view this brief video tutorial.
Health Reference Center Academic supports research in health studies through periodicals and reference book content.
Academic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary database offering full-text articles from peer reviewed journal.
View this video for instructions for searching Academic Search Complete.
To locate journals by their title, use the Online Journal Portal.
Click this link to view a brief tutorial regarding how to use the Online Journal Portal.
Additional databases are available on the library's website.
eBooks on EBSCOhost provides full text content to more than 170,000 ebooks, covering a broad range of academic topics. Use the link to search the entire collection.
View this tutorial regarding effective searching in the eBooks by EBSCOhost database.
New Hours
Email askalibrarian during these new hours:
Mondays – Thursdays
8am to 5pm (ET)
Fridays
8am to 4pm (ET)
See our expanded Chat/Text service hours.
Email askalibrarian@sjcme.edu
Text (207) 245-1331
Text and chat hours:
New Hours
Chat/Text
Chat with a librarian during the new, expanded hours:
Mondays – Fridays
5pm – Midnight (ET)
Saturdays and Sundays
Chat is available 24 hours each day.
Chat here.
