Preliminary research is the process of collecting information about an unfamiliar topic. This gathering of background information will improve one’s understanding of the topic, help with developing a thesis statement or research question, and ensure accuracy when actual research begins.
Keep in mind that the secondary and tertiary sources found in Credo Reference are not the types of sources your instructors would want you to cite in a paper.
Consult these databases to find journal articles on specific topics.
Business Source Complete offers access to over 3,000 peer reviewed journals.
Business Collection includes full-text coverage of all business disciplines as well as business theory and practice.
ProQuest One Business features scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, and videos.
Global Newsstream provides access to news resources from around the globe with content dating back to the 1980s. The content includes newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, video, podcasts, and digital-only websites.
To locate journals by their title, use the Online Journal Portal.
Click this link to view a brief tutorial regarding how to use the Online Journal Portal.
Additional business databases are available on the library's website.
eBooks on EBSCOhost provides full text content to more than 170,000 ebooks, covering a broad range of academic topics. Use the link to search the entire collection.
View this tutorial regarding effective searching in the eBooks by EBSCOhost database.
New Hours
Email askalibrarian during these new hours:
Mondays – Thursdays
8am to 5pm (ET)
Fridays
8am to 4pm (ET)
See our expanded Chat/Text service hours.
Email askalibrarian@sjcme.edu
Text (207) 245-1331
Text and chat hours:
New Hours
Chat/Text
Chat with a librarian during the new, expanded hours:
Mondays – Fridays
5pm – Midnight (ET)
Saturdays and Sundays
Chat is available 24 hours each day.
Chat here.
